Do you have a health condition that’s best treated by medical marijuana? Well, if you live in the state of Florida, it’s a good idea to learn the Florida dispensary laws before buying it. Luckily, individuals with certain illnesses don’t have too much to worry about.
However, there are a few rules you should understand first before purchasing medical marijuana. To learn more about Florida dispensary laws, continue reading.
Health Conditions Approved for Medical Marijuana in Florida
The Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, also known as Amendment 2, legalizes medical marijuana in Florida. According to this bill, the following health conditions are approved for medical marijuana:
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
In addition to the conditions listed above, ailments like migraines, anxiety, and depression are also qualified.
Is Marijuana Legal in Florida?
Medical marijuana prescribed by a licensed physician is permitted in Florida. However, recreational uses of the drug—as well as the sale and possession of it—is illegal.
Having more than 20 grams of marijuana or less is a misdemeanor. It carries a one-year prison sentence and a fine of $1,000.
For individuals who use it for medical purposes, Florida defines cannabis as medical marijuana or low THC cannabis. For it to qualify for low THC, the cannabis plant must only contain 0.8% or less THC and over 10% CBD by weight.
Patients cannot have more than a 70-day supply of cannabis at a time. Furthermore, all marijuana that’s purchased has to stay in its original packaging.
Also, medical patients are prohibited from having more than a 35 day supply of cannabis or more than 4 oz of smokable cannabis at a time.
How to Register for Medical Marijuana
After a qualified physician has recommended medical marijuana for you, you must register your patient information. You’ll receive an email from the Office of Compassionate Use. In that email, it’ll include instructions for getting a medical marijuana identification card.
The application fee for the card is $75. Once your application is approved, you’ll receive an email. According to Florida dispensary laws, you’ll need a registry identification card to purchase medical marijuana.
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana
Florida patients can only buy medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary. That’s the only way that marijuana is considered a medical necessity in Florida. To find a list of Florida dispensaries, reach out to one of the Florida Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers.
If you can’t physically go to a dispensary, licensed Florida dispensaries can deliver marijuana to registered patients throughout Florida.
Visit HarvestHOC.com to find more dispensary locations in Florida.
Understanding Florida Dispensary Laws
As you can see, when it comes to Florida dispensary laws, there’s quite a bit that goes into it. However, if you have all of the proper paperwork and you follow all of the rules, you’ll be fine.
If you enjoyed this content, continue browsing our website to find more helpful articles.